This week, Plumpkins repeated an unsubstantiated rumor that a “gag order” had been issued to NAMB employees. Under the title, NAMB employees under new gag rule? by Peter Lumpkins, he said this:

I’m told by sources in close proximity to the situation that during the chapel service at the North American Mission Board this week, employees were required to sign a statement of confidentiality since information was “leaking out of NAMB”* In short, an order of silence became the norm. And, the sense I got was not private, personal information leaking out, information like social security numbers, salaries of employees and other similar private data which may very well cause pause for concern.

Instead, the “leaked” information apparently pertains to matters which should not necessarily be considered privileged information. For example, if cooperating Southern Baptist churches which give enormous amounts of monies to fund church plants desire to know precisely which church plants receive funding, how much funding, and for how long, no such restrictions such apply. In addition, all stats for church plants including all liaisons with other theological groups (if any) should not be hindered in the free flow of information.

In very short order, Mike Ebert, who works in the communications department at NAMB, made the first comment on the post:

Peter–Absolute fiction.

Posted by: Mike Ebert | Feb 23, 2012 at 07:37 PM


Plumpkins, to his credit, did close the comments so he could do further research, citing his sources and assuring readers they had never led him astray. However, today he was forced to include an update the post with a lengthy mea culpa and apology:

UPDATE: Due to the accuracy of this account being challenged by one NAMB official, and upon investigating further into the matter with the sources I cited–credible sources I had no reason heretofore to suspect–I regret to report there exists no corroboration I can detect on the “gag rule” being implemented in the form stated in the post–i.e. a signed form in chapel service. And, while there seems to exist evidence that verbal forms of the “gag rule” placed upon NAMB employees are present at NAMB (expressed, for example, in what some reference as “boot camps”) still the fact remains, the information I received about the chapel service and signed document is hardly accurate. Hence, to Kevin Ezell and the North American Mission Board I offer my sincere apology for perpetuating as true what evidently did not happen in the form it was delivered to me.

In addition, to the readers of SBC Tomorrow, I also offer my sincerest apologies. You deserve commentary on denominational affairs based on the most credible, factual information available. And while I sincerely thought I was basing my commentary on credible testimony, I hold no delusion that you should not be disappointed. The fact is, I am disappointed in myself. I broke my own strict protocol in making sure I have the goods before I deliver the message. This present post stands as the quintessential reason why that is so. And, know I have learned much in the process. I regret my lessons learned, however, came at another’s expense.

Finally, even though my normal commentary is based upon hard evidences like written, audio, and video–evidences which anyone may check and draw their own conclusions–and rarely base what I write on this blog on softer types like anecdotal, or softer still, verbal assertions, know I intend to be more careful still in the future.

May our Lord extend to us all His grace to be the best we can be for His glory alone. And, may our Lord forgive me as I look only to Him for my redemption.

Any acknowledgment of and repentance from foolish and sinful behavior should be greeted with grace. There is yet hope that Plumpkins will yet repent of the other lies he has told on his blog and around the various places of the blogosphere and blogdumb.

broken phone broken telephone

"Hello? Hello?? Peter? I think I might have bad information..."


There is a larger issue looming here: that Peter’s “sources” have been severely wrong two times in the last two months (see my post “Buy your domains from Lumpdaddy.com” on Feb. 10, 2012). On his blog, Plumpkins once again assured readers,

However, the word I’m getting from very reliable sources is, Wright’s “task force” is going to propose as possibilities these three names.

Those three names were, of course, Continental Baptist Convention, Evangelical Baptist Convention, and International Baptist Convention, neither of which was mentioned to any degree in the task force report. Peter and/or his sources were as wrong as it is possible to be.

One wonders if an explanation and disavowing any of his sources is in the future. The poisonous root and all that.

Who are these “sources” to whom Pastor Peter Lumpkins entrusts himself and his rapidly fading reputation? It really does not matter, they have proven themselves to be as untrustworthy as the man to whom they tell their secrets.

Comments are closed.